Author Topic: Altium drops components randomly on pcb  (Read 2379 times)

Offline MrMetthewTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
  • Where it all comes down to : i = c (dv/dt)
Altium drops components randomly on pcb
« on: April 18, 2018, 09:58:04 am »
Guys, I am fighting with Altium 13.1 again. This for a legancy design change. My problem is that every time I update the board layout from the updated schematic Altium just randomly scatteres the new footprints on my pcb, this is annoying and prone to making errors. Can anyone guide me with this? I want th new footprints on the side of the board if possible. See image.

PS I am NOT an expert with Altium!

Offline Mikekoz13

• Contributor
Re: Altium drops components randomly on pcb
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2018, 11:21:54 am »
It sounds like your "Component Links" are broken. Component links are unique identifiers that link the schematic symbols to the corresponding parts on the board. If the link(s) between a symbol and a part gets broken it will do what you are seeing.

The following users thanked this post: MrMetthew

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2018, 11:32:23 am »
It sounds like your "Component Links" are broken. Component links are unique identifiers that link the schematic symbols to the corresponding parts on the board. If the link(s) between a symbol and a part gets broken it will do what you are seeing.

Thanx. Do these links look broken to you? If so, how can I fix them? I have put them to the left so you could more clearly see them, normally I had put them on the right by pressing the arrow key.

Thanks in advance !

Offline Psi

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: April 18, 2018, 11:36:48 am »
Is it just brand new components that are being placed randomly?
or do already placed components on the PCB jump to random locations during an update?
Greek letter 'Psi' (not Pounds per Square Inch)

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #4 on: April 18, 2018, 11:38:01 am »