Author Topic: Circuit Studio has potential  (Read 7345 times)

Offline jmarkwolfTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Circuit Studio has potential
« on: March 13, 2015, 01:11:43 pm »
I'm surprised there isn't more buzz about the roll-out of Crcuit Studio yet.

I downloaded it and have been checking it out, although I haven't done an end-to-end design yet. So far I'm encouraged, although I think it's priced a little high.

But if you consider the non-optional 1st year of support is $500, then that makes the software $2500 Maybe it's not too bad.

I've been using Protel/Altium every day at work for nearly 20 years, and I'm considering plunking my money down for use at home when I retire and start consulting.

If Circuit Studio was just a little more capable........  :-//

Does anyone know about any discussion/options about "post processors" making this tool more productive, like how to make translators from the native CsPcbDoc file format into the Altium ASCII PcbDoc? Or the native netlist formats into a variey of other netlist formats? Or incorporating the old Camtastic, etc, etc.

Just thinking out loud.
« Last Edit: March 13, 2015, 01:13:51 pm by jmarkwolf »

Offline c4757p

• Super Contributor
  • adieu
Re: Circuit Studio has potential
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2015, 01:14:11 pm »
No longer active here - try the IRC channel if you just can't be without me :)

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2015, 01:31:16 pm »
I agree (uurgh!), but consider that Altium Designer is something like $9000.

Even Eagle is almost $2000 for the full boat package.

So Far, it looks like Circuit Studio is "almost" the pared down Altium we've all been harping about for years now...

With some official updates and some "user community development" and post-processors it might be a real contender for those of us that would really like to continue to use "Altium" when we won't have access to it through work.

Offline RF-Tech

• Contributor