Author Topic: Do you plan to switch to Nexus?  (Read 3774 times)

Offline ali_asadzadehTopic starter

• Super Contributor
Do you plan to switch to Nexus?
« on: January 18, 2019, 05:11:36 pm »
Hi,
I wanted to know your opinion, do you continue to use Altium Designer or are you considering Altium Nexus?
ASiDesigner, Stands for Application specific intelligent devices
I'm a Digital Expert from 8-bits to 64-bits

Offline Wilksey

• Super Contributor
Re: Do you plan to switch to Nexus?
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2019, 05:55:23 pm »
Altium, Nexus is only useful if you run your own Vault sever I believe, I have both installed, uses the same license.

Offline pigrew

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2019, 01:52:38 am »
I used it for a little while in my company, and the difference was that many features could be centrally controlled by the vault server. It would be good where many people need to work together with a uniform process. I do work on internally-used test fixtures that don't go through our normal production flow, so its administrative controls were a bit annoying...

Offline free_electron

• Super Contributor
    • SiliconValleyGarage
« Reply #3 on: January 21, 2019, 03:05:03 am »
There is NO difference between Altium Designer and Nexus, EXCEPT : vault

To run Nexus you need a vault installation. It won't even start unless it can connect to a vault.
To use a vault you need to run Nexus. Altium Designer (19 onwards)  can't connect to a vault.

Basically Nexus = Altium Designer + vault.

When it comes to schematic/pcb and all other things they are identical.
Professional Electron Wrangler.
Any comments, or points of view expressed, are my own and not endorsed , induced or compensated by my employer(s).

• Super Contributor
« Reply #4 on: January 21, 2019, 01:02:39 pm »
There is NO difference between Altium Designer and Nexus, EXCEPT : vault

To run Nexus you need a vault installation. It won't even start unless it can connect to a vault.