Author Topic: Slow Performance during Interactive Length Tuning  (Read 5087 times)

Offline cjurczakTopic starter

• Contributor
Slow Performance during Interactive Length Tuning
« on: October 09, 2018, 06:02:16 pm »
I've been using AD for a couple of years, but am using the interactive length tuning for the first time.  The problem is I am seeing very sluggish performance from Altium when this feature is active.  Performance immediately before and after tuning a net is fine, performance takes a noticeable hit while tuning is active. 

If I am tuning a net that is 500 mils long, it make take 10-15 seconds for the serpentine to display, and track lengths to update.  When I left click to confirm, performance is find until I click on the next track to tune. 

I am running AD 18.1.9 Build 240, on my PC with a i7-3770 3.4Ghz, 16GB of RAM, Nvidia Quadro K600, on Windows 7 64-bit.  This PC hasn't given me any trouble with performance up to this point, and I don't think it is the weak link in this case either.  I have monitored the windows Resource Monitor while length tuning, and none of the assets are being taxed.  Notably CPU utilization is below 20%, making me think there is something else gumming up the works so to speak. 

If anyone has any experience like this, or has a possible solution it would be greatly appreciated.  This forum has been a valuable asset in learning AD over the last couple of years, much more so than Altium itself sadly. 

Thanks in advance, I look forward to hearing from some of you on this one!

Offline ajb

• Super Contributor
Re: Slow Performance during Interactive Length Tuning
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2018, 07:56:11 pm »
I'm running an i7-4770, 32GB RAM, and a GTX 660 on Win10x64, and interactive length tuning isn't silky smooth but it's perfectly usable. 

How complex is the board you're dealing with?  Are you tuning tracks that jump between layers or have lots of twists and turns before tuning?