Author Topic: Uniquely Referencing Same Child Sheet Multiple Times  (Read 2545 times)

Offline Vancouver_KidTopic starter

Uniquely Referencing Same Child Sheet Multiple Times
« on: August 18, 2018, 03:18:09 pm »
Hello All,

I would like to first of all say that I am quite new to Altium designer.

What I am trying to accomplish is creating a Multi-channel thermistor board. I am organising the multiple channels by having a top_sheet, connector sheet, and a 3_Mux sheet, there will be many other ones but for now this will do. As you can see in the Desired_Connectivity image (which is purely used as an example image), the connector sheet is just a multiple 50 pin connector attaching to a bus, and exiting through the port to the top sheet symbols entry. It then (by the same bus) connects to the other sheet symbol entry, goes down into sheet 3_mux, and then the bus get's dispersed to the 3 different mux's via net labels. What I am wanting to accomplish is what the desired connectivity sheet shows, the connector sheet with each unique iteration of the connector child sheet connecting to each unique iteration of the 3_Mux sheet.

What I tried to do is use the repeat command on both sheet symbols, as well as the sheet entries that I wanted to be unique. The problem I had was that I when I tried to repeat the connector sheet and its sheet entry, as well as the mux sheet and its entries (the ones that need to be unique such as the incoming bus port, and the ADC out's), all the connector connections would be connected in parallel within the pcbdoc, as well as all the Mux connections would be as well.

So I read on Altium's website (which I think this pertains to what I am trying to do) "It is not possible to pass an individual net to just one channel if the Repeat keyword has been used to create the channels. If this is required, you must place an individual Sheet Symbol for each channel"