Author Topic: (UK) Free PCB designer + tutorial, and British manufacturer  (Read 3096 times)

Offline rhydiansion01Topic starter

Id like your thoughts about the best free PCB designer tool, along with good beginner tutorial. Also id like to know if there's a company that would produce a single PCB board for hobbyist in the UK?

Im a bit of a novice, but im willing to learn, and hopefully will be getting the 3rd edition of the electronics bible soon for my 21st!

Offline ozwolf

• Regular Contributor
Re: (UK) Free PCB designer + tutorial, and British manufacturer
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2015, 11:06:36 am »
Try AutoTrax Dex, free for non-commercial use, go to http://www.kov.com.

Tons of videos on YouTube to help out.

Ozwolf

I reject your reality and substitute my own.

Offline Sirius631

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2015, 11:14:27 am »
I've not heard of AutoTrax Dex.

If you look in the PCB CAD section of the forum, the broadly used CAD packages with free variants are discussed widely. I've just downloaded Eagle and am generally happy with it, despite the lack of intuitive flow, which will be overcome with experience.

Offline sleemanj

• Super Contributor
  • Professional tightwad.
    • The electronics hobby components I sell.
« Reply #3 on: March 27, 2015, 11:40:39 am »
DipTrace is the most intuitive of the "professional" design packages IMHO (but I haven't tried AutoTrax), the free version will see you well into getting into some moderately big hobby stuff, and the paid versions are reasonably priced.

As for board houses, don't know about in the UK, but there are plenty of cheap manufacturers in China for prototypes, usually in quantities of 10 boards for a buck of two each. 

For example, dirtypcbs.com protopack gets you "around" 10 5x5cm boards, sometimes as few as 8 sometimes as many as 12, with free shipping, for $14 USD, in a number of colours.