Author Topic: 10GHz Video Transmitter?  (Read 3956 times)

Offline CorrosiveTopic starter

10GHz Video Transmitter?
« on: July 19, 2015, 09:34:00 am »
Hello all, I'm currently trying to build an amateur tv transmitter using a 10ghz microwave doppler module such as this one http://www.amazon.com/SMAKN-Microwave-10-525GHz-Doppler-Detector/dp/B00FFW4AZ4

I have managed to modulate audio over this module without any issue however I've never worked with analog video before. I'm looking to hopefully take a composite video source, amplify it with a transistor and then use that to drive the module modulating it on the 5v input pin.

Thus far I haven't had much luck, I have managed to get it to transmit on the 10ghz ham band and down convert it with an lnb, sure enough I can pick it up on channel 60, 40, etc. What I see is a black screen while transmitting telling me I have a working carrier frequency.

If anyone is interested here is my attempt:

Is it possible to modulate video with one of these?

EDIT

I found this in an old magazine

Not sure if this will work on this module or not as it's not a gunn diode, but I'll give it a chance if I can salvage the needed components and post back here if it works.
« Last Edit: July 19, 2015, 10:40:54 am by Corrosive »

Offline SL4P

• Super Contributor
  • There's more value if you figure it out yourself!
Re: 10GHz Video Transmitter?
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2015, 07:36:13 pm »
The black screen is encouraging but I think I'd look at the TV input with a scope, to see how the sync is formed, and it will also give you a better view of what your mod/demod is achieving.
I'd also careful where I point that 10Ghz emitter, unless you already have enough children.
Don't ask a question if you aren't willing to listen to the answer.

Offline Dago

• Frequent Contributor
    • Electronics blog about whatever I happen to build!
« Reply #2 on: July 19, 2015, 07:53:37 pm »