Author Topic: 30v 10A bench supply schematic. Is it any good???  (Read 7570 times)

Offline FotatoPotatoTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
  • It's probably in reverse...
30v 10A bench supply schematic. Is it any good???
« on: November 13, 2017, 01:08:54 am »
Hello everyone,

I have been interested in building a bench power supply for a while now and just recently I got a 24v 10A transformer, and I want to put it to use. Because I am new to building power supplies I decided to just look up schematics for power supplies that would meet my requirements. I found this schematic and it looks pretty good. Even though it's only rated at 4A I’m sure that if I just beef up the transistors and power traces/ components then it would be fine for delivering 10A. Let me know if this is a good schematic and if I should build it.

EDIT: I'm looking for 12v @10A for the High current and 30v @ 5A
« Last Edit: November 13, 2017, 02:00:33 am by FotatoPotato »

Offline schmitt trigger

• Super Contributor
Re: 30v 10A bench supply schematic. Is it any good???
« Reply #1 on: November 13, 2017, 01:47:20 am »
Question yourself: 300 watts output from a 240 VA transformer?
Because this is a linear power supply, expect no more than about 170 watts output.

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: November 13, 2017, 01:59:36 am »
Sorry, I should have been more specific. Im looking for 12v @ 10A and 30v @ about 5A

Offline Audioguru

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: November 13, 2017, 02:04:33 am »
The schematic is a partially modified Greek kit from at least 13 years ago and Chinese copies are available today. I fixed some of its problems by beefing up many parts and using two output transistors (with emitter resistors) and a 28V/4.3A (120VA) power transformer.
When it had a 24V transformer its output voltage could not reach 30V when loaded to 3A, maybe 25VDC.