Author Topic: 4-output (but very basic) Power Supply  (Read 3876 times)

Offline SkrillBillTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
4-output (but very basic) Power Supply
« on: November 03, 2017, 08:26:13 pm »
Hey everyone,
   I'm working on small project; a simple bench power supply with 4 outputs (3 fixed and one variable) using LM-series regulators. it's not finished yet, but I wanted to share what i had in case there are any obvious mistakes. I noticed im using a lot of capacitors for line filtering, around the LMs, nto sure i need all of that.

Anyways, here is my schematic so far, drawn on digi key:
https://www.digikey.com/schemeit/project/powersupply-v1-1-GDI647G303I0/

Looking forward to feedback, both good in bad. This is my first attempt at making a schematic of anykind, so im sure i messed it up.

Online Kleinstein

• Super Contributor
Re: 4-output (but very basic) Power Supply
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2017, 08:46:34 pm »
There is no need for the diode D1. There should a large electrolytic cap for filtering the raw voltage - this one seems to be missing.
Just a single cap at the output of the regulators is OK on principle. The second (electrolytic one) might improve things if not to large.

The regulator might want a diode from the output to the input side : the 78xx don't like a higher voltage at the output than input very much. That is one way to break them.

The LM317 part does not look right, especially the pot. A diode across the outputs might be a good idea for the other regulators too - not an absolute must, but helpful if another power source is used in combination.

A 7824 suggests that the input voltage can be rather high. Remember that there is an upper limit. For the lower voltage outputs the power dissipation and maybe SOA limit for the regulators can become a problem.  So they might like to start from a lower voltage.

The regualtors need a minimum load to work well.