Author Topic: 555 triggering?  (Read 1640 times)

Offline dteckTopic starter

• Contributor
555 triggering?
« on: March 23, 2016, 07:48:29 am »
Hi everyone,

So this is probably a silly question but I've never used a 555 before so I'm hoping someone who knows better can help me. I want to make a simple 5 minute timer circuit attached to a pir motion detector (Your basic security light setup) But what I want to know is so you pull the trigger low to start the timer. What happens if you pull it low again during its countdown? does it restart the 5 minute countdown? or does it simply ignore the second trigger while the countdown is running?  :-//

Thanks in advance

Offline matseng

• Frequent Contributor
    • My Github
Re: 555 triggering?
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2016, 08:25:26 am »
Nothing happens if you re-pull the trigger low during the 5 minute window.  The output will be off after 5 minutes regardless what you do with the trigger input - you can even keep the trigger low constantly and the output will go off when the time is up anyways.

Falstad simulation here: http://goo.gl/hVhuCq

On my machine the 555 in the simulation timeout is set to about 6 seconds.... Singe click (or click and hold the "H" do the left to take if low.

Offline dteckTopic starter

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2016, 08:34:53 am »
Nothing happens if you re-pull the trigger low during the 5 minute window.  The output will be off after 5 minutes regardless what you do with the trigger input - you can even keep the trigger low constantly and the output will go off when the time is up anyways.

Falstad simulation here: http://goo.gl/hVhuCq

On my machine the 555 in the simulation timeout is set to about 6 seconds.... Singe click (or click and hold the "H" do the left to take if low.

Thank you Matseng. That was very helpful.

Offline Audioguru

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: March 23, 2016, 02:44:11 pm »
Absolutely NOT. The Falstad simulator is wrong.