Author Topic: A question about power supplies based on LM317.  (Read 8980 times)

Offline AsimTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
A question about power supplies based on LM317.
« on: June 15, 2013, 04:43:43 pm »
Hi everyone  :)

I am planning on building a power supply based on LM317. I will use a standard Laptop Adapter that its output is 19V , 4.74A as
the input of the circuit and the output of the circuit should be 5V -15V. I will use this power supply to power up my other small projects.
 my concern is:
1- Is it fine to use this adapter ?
2- Is it safe ?

This is the circuit i am going to build.

thanks.

Offline Jebnor

• Regular Contributor
  • Absolutely! Yes, kind of, sort of, not really, no.
Re: A question about power supplies based on LM317.
« Reply #1 on: June 15, 2013, 04:52:58 pm »
Yup this will work.  The only thing I would warn about watching the input current.  With near 5A available you can easily release the magic blue smoke from your LM317.

I'm still a rookie, but that is the first thing that comes to mind.
Before this, there was a typo.

Offline Mr Smiley

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: June 15, 2013, 06:42:05 pm »
5v 1Amp output = 14 watts dissipated in 317 = magic smoke without a decent heatsink  :-DD

:)
There is enough on this planet to sustain mans needs. There will never be enough on this planet to sustain mans greed.

Online mariush

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: June 15, 2013, 07:02:08 pm »
The only problem you have is that with linear regulators, the difference in voltage gets dissipated as heat.

Therefore, if you feed 19v and you want 5v at 1A, then you're wasting (19v - 5v ) x 1A = 14 watts as heat.

The LM317 and most linear regulators have a maximum power dissipation of about 15 watts so you'd need a very big heatsink to keep the linear regulator cool.

You want to keep the voltage difference as low as possible, but at the same time it has to be at least 2v difference due to how the linear regulator is made.