Author Topic: AC>DC transformers  (Read 2943 times)

Offline MufasaTopic starter

AC>DC transformers
« on: November 10, 2014, 08:20:18 am »
Sup all, i recently ordered an wall voltage> 20-60w 14v output transformer (power supply) for a project i'm working on

it arrived probably a week or so ago, and now that i'm getting around to using it, i realise that it's an AC>AC adapter (project requires DC output)

i'm far from an expert on electronics, but my understanding was that a transformer would supply DC output unless special care was used to invert it into an AC current

that said, is it possible i can just short out some components, or remove some, and get an efficient DC power supply, or no go?
i have some rectifiers/diodes i can use otherwise, but i'd rather not have to have an external device attached to it, and having to seal it up and make it look neat and safe otherwise

here is a picture of the open unit

and listing on ebay
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/390716386103?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1497.l2649
i bought this one, because it was significantly cheaper than a wall adaptor, and since i will be mounting it inside of something, it would be a better solution

any help appreciated

Offline German_EE

• Super Contributor
Re: AC>DC transformers
« Reply #1 on: November 10, 2014, 09:02:36 am »
What you have is almost certainly an inverter for lighting although the output at 14V is a little high. The basic theory of power supplies and transformers is as follows:

1) Transformers ONLY work on AC. They take the 230V mains voltage and step it up or down depending on the ratio of turns between the primary coil connected to the mains and the secondary coil. So, if you have 200 turns on your primary and 10 turns on your secondary then the ratio is 20:1 and a 230V input will give an 11,5V output.