Author Topic: OpAmp datasheet gains: GAIN(dB) vs. G?  (Read 2035 times)

Offline raff5184Topic starter

• Regular Contributor
OpAmp datasheet gains: GAIN(dB) vs. G?
« on: November 21, 2017, 07:02:44 am »
Hi all,
I am studying the datasheet of this AD811 opAmp
http://www.analog.com/media/en/technical-documentation/data-sheets/AD811.pdf

What is the difference in Figure 6 between the GAIN (dB) on the y axis and the G = +2?
Similarly in Figure 29 there are 3 different gains: GAIN (dB), G = +1 (top left) and Gain = + 10 (caption)

Finally, in the table 3 (page 12) I need to choose RFB for the closed loop gain. Do the positive values for the gain correspond to the non-inverting configuration and the negative values to the inverting configuration? I mean, what's the difference between +1, +10, and -1, -10 etc?

Thank you

Offline ogden

• Super Contributor
Re: OpAmp datasheet gains: GAIN(dB) vs. G?
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2017, 07:27:07 am »
Hi all,
I am studying the datasheet of this AD811 opAmp
http://www.analog.com/media/en/technical-documentation/data-sheets/AD811.pdf

What is the difference in Figure 6 between the GAIN (dB) on the y axis and the G = +2?
Similarly in Figure 29 there are 3 different gains: GAIN (dB), G = +1 (top left) and Gain = + 10 (caption)

Finally, in the table 3 (page 12) I need to choose RFB for the closed loop gain. Do the positive values for the gain correspond to the non-inverting configuration and the negative values to the inverting configuration? I mean, what's the difference between +1, +10, and -1, -10 etc?

Thank you

Figure 6 shows GBW (Gain Bandwidth) for amplification factor 2. Gain Bandwidth (beasured in dB) is defined by opamp's frequency characteristics, amplification gain/ratio is defined by feedback resistors, their ratio. Hope it helps. If not - do not hesitate to ask further, thou after reading doc below :)

Further reading:
http://www.ti.com/lit/an/sloa011/sloa011.pdf