Author Topic: Advice for novice  (Read 14163 times)

Offline Diox55Topic starter

Advice for novice
« on: June 26, 2014, 03:53:39 am »
Firstly a little about myself, for anyone that cares. My name is Tucker I am 15 years old, please don't put me off as a immature kid. I am relatively smart. But my main field of knowledge for electronics is computers- I'm still in the early stages of learning to code, but I'm very interested in learning about the things Dave does. I have been watching his blog on and off for about a year, and recently Ben Heck. Both of these guys are a major inspiration to me- but as you can guess, I'm a noob at all of this. Could anyone give me advice on where to begin learning about some of this stuff? Any and all advice is appreciated, thank you for your time.

Offline XOIIO

• Super Contributor
Re: Advice for novice
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2014, 04:44:50 am »
The question is, relative to what? lol

It depends what you are more interested in, the software side of things or the hardware side of things, arduino is a good way to get into programming, plus you can just program attiny chips using their software, and then use it to make the physical side of a project.

Offline bwat

• Frequent Contributor
    • My website
« Reply #2 on: June 26, 2014, 05:03:14 am »
arduino is a good way to get into programming
I have to disagree with you here. For the electronics enthusiast it's great but it's not so great a platform for learning about programming. The general purpose desktop computer is much better suited and there are plenty of free interpreters and compilers for the student to download and use.  If you've got a modern PC and want a good computer science grounding on the cheap then download this http://fldit-www.cs.uni-dortmund.de/~peter/PS07/HR.pdf and work through it.

If a student had 100$ and wanted to become a better programmer then I would advise them to buy