Author Topic: Altera EPM3032 CPLD Guide Tour Please.  (Read 27236 times)

Online MechatrommerTopic starter

• Super Contributor
  • reassessing directives...
Altera EPM3032 CPLD Guide Tour Please.
« on: May 24, 2011, 10:01:10 am »
today i received a bunch of components that i ordered. included is 1 piece of Altera EPM3032 as pictured. The reason i bought it because
1) i want to learn a new thing and embrace CPLD and FPGA.
2) since the seller sell this, i grab one just to distribute the shipping cost (lesser for each item) beside the other main components that intended to buy.

but the truth is, i have zero knowledge on this, no programmer no software no nothing, except this single chip. last time i google to find how to program this thing, i dont have a clear direction. iirc there is a device called fireblaster to program it. and about the software, i have no clue. please guide me on where to find the IDE, programmer, guides, notes, pdfs etc. i hope i can build a diy programmer for it instead of having to order from other place. thanx.
Nature: Evolution and the Illusion of Randomness (Stephen L. Talbott): Its now indisputable that... organisms “expertise” contextualizes its genome, and its nonsense to say that these powers are under the control of the genome being contextualized - Barbara McClintock

Offline deephaven

• Frequent Contributor
  • Civilization is just one big bootstrap
    • Deephaven Ltd
Re: Altera EPM3032 CPLD Guide Tour Please.
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2011, 12:30:38 pm »
That is opening quite a big can of worms   ;D

If you go on to the Altera website you will be able to find data sheets for the chip. These will also tell you what options you have for programming it.

The software you need to run is available free of charge from their website, it is called Quatus. Be advised that it is BIG - several Gigabytes!