Author Topic: Analog Oscilloscope for Beginner  (Read 14183 times)

Offline VexerTopic starter

• Contributor
Analog Oscilloscope for Beginner
« on: September 06, 2010, 05:54:42 pm »
I am fairly new to electronics, and I am planning on getting an oscilloscope soon. I would like to get a "real" analog oscilloscope off of ebay, however I am not sure what to look for in a used oscilloscope(manufacturer, bandwidth, etc).

Could anyone point me towards what looks like a good oscilloscope for a beginner on ebay?

Offline Simon

• Global Moderator
  • Did that just blow up? No? might work after all !!
    • Simon's Electronics
Re: Analog Oscilloscope for Beginner
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2010, 06:15:08 pm »
hameg, HP, agilent and many more are good, most scopes don't go below 20 MHz and this should do you fine unless you have a specific need

alm

« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2010, 06:35:47 pm »
Don't forget Tektronix, who basically invented the modern scope and remained on top until the DSO leveled the playing field with HP/Lecroy. HP's scopes had a reputation for horrible triggering, although I'm sure they've fixed that in their later models. Lecroy's scopes (especially their earlier models) had a pretty unintuitive user interface. Tektronix scopes usually do command a premium, though.

Offline Kiriakos-GR

• Super Contributor
  • !
  • User is banned.
    • Honda AX-1 rebuild
« Reply #3 on: September 06, 2010, 06:35:56 pm »
Well the oldies are an good option , but  have in mind those ...  
1) Possibly damaged tube
2) Old model = no parts or support.
3) documentation ...   ( Users  manual )  its an must have, with the device..  

Offline djsb

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #4 on: September 06, 2010, 08:00:48 pm »
David
Hertfordshire,UK