Author Topic: Any suggestions on circuit design software?  (Read 2321 times)

Offline UltraTrunksTopic starter

• Contributor
Any suggestions on circuit design software?
« on: August 25, 2014, 07:06:10 pm »
I'm fairly new to the EEVblog (maybe a month in).  I've decided to stop "spot" watching episodes, and am committed to watching them all from beginning to end.  I've already got 50 in this week  8)  Its great stuff and its totally revived my creative bug back from my EE days in college.  I have few questions on what kinds of design software packages people are using to design/fab/test circuits.  One example I've seen in the episode titles is "KiCad".  Looks like a PCB layout tool.  Reminds of my CADENCE days in digital design.  I haven't gotten to these episodes yet, but I'm definitely going to take a poke at KiCad.

• What is the application that Dave used to make that spinning 3D board in the intro to some of his early videos?  I like that, its pretty cool.
  • I remember using SPICE in school to draw out circuit schematics and test them.  Whats the crowd favorite nowadays?
  • I've already mentioned KiCad as a PCB layout tool.  Any comments on that?  Is there anything else out there worth a look?
  • Are there any packages that can do it all?  Lay out circuit diagram, simulate circuit, layout PCBs so fabs can make your custom board?  Sometimes when a product tires to do everything it ends up doing nothing very well, but it would be convient if there was a suite out there that hit all the bases.

Offline alimirjamali

• Regular Contributor
  • Analog! D2A or A2D?
    • Ali's personal blog (updated once per year!)
Re: Any suggestions on circuit design software?
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2014, 07:17:55 pm »
1. Dave used (and still uses) Altium designer. He worked for the same company in the past ;).
2. Dave has a video of LT-Spice (Freeware). Other open source alternatives are available. Check alternativesto.net