Author Topic: Anything to salvage here?  (Read 13010 times)

Offline scoleciteTopic starter

Anything to salvage here?
« on: November 25, 2010, 02:36:57 am »
Hi I'm very new to electronics and this was salvaged from a UPS system. I also saw it was hole through, so Im hoping there is something I can salvage.

1. Is there anything dangerous that I should be aware of. (I have careful with it so far, Im not gonna take any chances)
2. If you could tell me what you would take off this board I would appreciate it?

The two big brown caps say 50V 1000uf. If you have any questions please ask!

Thanks!

Offline NiHaoMike

• Super Contributor
  • "Don't turn it on - Take it apart!"
    • Facebook Page
Re: Anything to salvage here?
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2010, 03:19:00 am »
That looks like the board out of an old UPS that used a ferroresonant transformer. (The new ones use PWM to generate sine waves.) There are no large high voltage capacitors on the board, unlike the newer ones. (There might be a large high voltage capacitor connected to the transformer, just check for voltage using a multimeter before handling.)

As for parts to salvage, the relays and power MOSFETs can be very useful. The ferroresonant transformer itself, if you still have it, can be reused if you can figure out the windings. And the board can be used for soldering/desoldering practice. (Indeed, anything that is not bad can be salvaged. It's just that salvaging small resistors isn't worth the time unless you're going to practice desoldering.)
Cryptocurrency has taught me to love math and at the same time be baffled by it.

Cryptocurrency lesson 0: Altcoins and Bitcoin are not the same thing.

Offline Mechatrommer

• Super Contributor
  • reassessing directives...
« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2010, 05:46:29 am »
the many legged bugs on there look expensive :o