Author Topic: Arduino IDE on Ubuntu, how?  (Read 4825 times)

Offline alpherTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Arduino IDE on Ubuntu, how?
« on: February 06, 2018, 05:21:54 pm »
Hi, total noob here. :-//
I'm trying to play with arduino stuff so decided to install the IDE.
Cause I have this blazingly fast Acer netbook gathering dust, decided to install Lubuntu on it to use it as a platform to play.
Lubuntu runs just barely passable on this Atom killer C50 cpu, but I don't complain.
What I cannot wrap my head arround is this, how do you make the IDE connect to actual arduino through USB ?
I know I'm probably missing something very basic here, but I really have no idea how do you work with USB/serial in linux?
Steps that I did so far, in IDE I go to tools choose my board ( UNO ) , then I go to programmer and ?? tried AVRisp, but then i see a  message that I need to pick a serial port, unfortunately that option is grayed out.
Any pointers?
Thanks in advance.

Offline rrinker

• Super Contributor
Re: Arduino IDE on Ubuntu, how?
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2018, 05:28:27 pm »
 This may be the same problem I had with my model railroad control program using the USB port to communicate to the interface board, while running Ubuntu. Your user does not have the required permissions to the USB port. That was a long time ago and I rarely use that machine any more so I do not recall exactly what I had to do to fix it (assign myself permissions, of course, but I forget the actual commands required).  That should at least point you in the right direction. Someone who more regularly uses Linux will I'm sure be able to show the command from memory.

Offline Electroplated

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2018, 06:09:54 pm »
I'm using mint 18 but I think maybe the problem you have with the ports grayed out is similar.