Author Topic: Are those arduino oscilloscopes good for a biginner?  (Read 8808 times)

Offline tjeulinkTopic starter

• Contributor
Are those arduino oscilloscopes good for a biginner?
« on: March 01, 2016, 08:14:59 am »
I have wanted to learn about electronic repair and design for ages but im a very slow learner so i often get discouraged by the bulk ahead. this is the main reason that keeps me from buying oscilloscopes second hand since most of those are either cheap and in bad shape(or in some remote place that i would have to pick it up from) or €100 or higher and in a somewhat okay state, which is just not worth it for the times i will actually have learned something from it beyond how to use it. so my question is, are those cheapish arduino oscilloscope shields and software worth it? can i actually learn with them as an absolute beginner? if so does anyone know what one is the best one? i googled it and an incredible amount of instructables etc popped up and i have no clue what i should look for, and what is worth the extra dime or not.

thanks for even considering helping me  :-+
scrap that, i'm talking crap again.

Offline Gmetal

Re: Are those arduino oscilloscopes good for a biginner?
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2016, 08:47:12 am »
If it's really cheap, it might be an interesting thing to have, and better than nothing, but its pretty different to using an actual oscilloscope, and will be probably very limited in in usability.

Even 'proper' USB oscilloscopes i find to be a huge pain in the ass. See if you can find a cheap old oscilloscope, even if its analog, and shabby, as long as it works, you'll learn alot. After all you don't need complex features if your objective is to learn, you just need to see a couple waveforms and compare/ practice measuring signals etc, and you'll get a better feel for it with a real one. Sometimes universities throw out old ones, so see if you can pick one of those up if there is one near you.