Author Topic: Art of Electronics Third Edition Exercise 2.24 - transistor current source  (Read 1502 times)

Offline StevieOnlyRTopic starter

Hi all, forum newbie here

This question is directed to fellow AoE 3 owners. I won't include a picture as I am concerned with copyright :scared:

My question is about (b) in Exercise 2.24 (page 125): a transistor current source with a voltage divider at the base to provide DC bias and an emitter resistor to "set" the current.
The authors write that as the transistor's β varies from 50 to 100 over the full compliance voltage range, the output current will vary, which is caused by two effects.

The first effect should be the β variation changing the load on the voltage divider at the transistor's base. Now I reckon the second effect is the Early effect (VBE varies with VCE edit: at constant IC). What confuses me though is that they specifically ask how the Early effect influences the output current in (c). It doesn't really make sense to me to ask for something in one question and have the answer for it right there in the next question.

Am I missing something here?
« Last Edit: June 18, 2018, 11:33:12 am by StevieOnlyR »

Offline LvW

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Art of Electronics Third Edition Exercise 2.24
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2018, 07:19:19 pm »
At first, in my version of AoE (second edition) there is no exercise 2.24.
nevertheless, I think I can give some comments:
1) In case of a voltage divider at the base (which provides the DC base bias) it is our intention to make this divider as low-resistive as possible. In this case, there will be only a minor change in VB caused by a varying DC base current (as a result of beta tolerances). It is common practice to select resistors so that the current through the divider is approximately 10 times the nominal base current (or even larger).
In this case, we say that we provide a (nearly) "stiff" base voltage Vb.