Author Topic: ATMEGA32 ICSP programming  (Read 2063 times)

Offline xitenikTopic starter

ATMEGA32 ICSP programming
« on: November 21, 2017, 03:49:54 pm »
Hello guys. I am new to programming. I have this MiniPro TL866a programmer and I wanted to use the ICSP port to read a chip. I was comparing the icsp pins on the board and these given in internet and the programmer, but something doesn't look right.
I need to read this Atmega32a AU chip, but I don't want to do something stupid and erase it by mistake, so I need an advice.
There are few things that I think are messed up. First, it doesn't fit any pinout in the internet. Second , the vcc pin is disconnected. Is that normal ? Where the chip will get power to be red ?
Could you please tell me what to do , so I can read it properly , without erasing.

Thanks!

Offline imidis

• Frequent Contributor
Re: ATMEGA32 ICSP programming
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2017, 04:23:30 pm »
This is my guess, I would probe the one to vcc see if thats vcc, the empty pads look like a spot for a pull up on the reset pin. But be careful not to put more voltage than the board was designed for. (VCC GND may be reversed if top layer is vcc)

It's very possible the chip fuses are set so it will not be able to be read
« Last Edit: November 21, 2017, 04:54:13 pm by imidis »
Gone for good

Offline Arjen_Arg

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: November 21, 2017, 05:39:45 pm »
imidis is right, the only question would be VDD as he says, but the rest matches the datasheet perfectly.

« Reply #3 on: November 21, 2017, 09:10:03 pm »
So I measured some things on the board. The NC , where the VCC is supposed to be, is not connected to anything.  When the power is connected to the board, on the right pad the voltage is 4.77, and the left pad is 4.65V.  The right pad with 4.77 is connected to the power of the board, but it is NOT connected to the VCC pin of the ICSP.