Author Topic: attiny burn mistake  (Read 11583 times)

Offline HalfordTopic starter

• Contributor
attiny burn mistake
« on: June 21, 2014, 08:52:47 pm »
Hi everyone,

I think this should be in an other section, but as a total beginner I ask it in here.

few days ago I was trying to program an attiny85 with an arduino, I achieved my goal on my third attempt. the first two I made a mistake that made the attiny unusable, I set an external 20Mhz clock. Could anybody explain me how can I get them back? I found few information about it, one was that I should link a real external resonator or crystal and another one was talking of a version of arduinoISP that would send a decent clock signal out of pin 9.

I'm completely new to this, until now I just made basic led lamps or easy gadgets, I'm a bit lost with these terms.

any help or explanation would be much appreciated

Hal.

Offline 128er

• Regular Contributor
Re: attiny burn mistake
« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2014, 09:45:15 pm »
Hi,
if you realy set the fuses for an external clock, then you can use a quartz crystal oscillator. It's a four pin device in a metal can. Needs a supply voltage and has a output pin for the clock signal. This signal can you connect to pin 2 (CLKI) of your Tiny85. Then you should be able to reconfigure the fuses over the ISP interface (for external resonators or the internal RC oscillator).

Compare at wikipedia:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Crystal_oscillator#mediaviewer/File:18MHZ_12MHZ_Crystal_110.jpg

The right one is what you are looking  for.

« Last Edit: June 21, 2014, 09:47:15 pm by 128er »

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: June 21, 2014, 09:56:56 pm »
thanks a million, I'll get on it

Offline theatrus

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #3 on: June 21, 2014, 11:23:10 pm »
If you have any other clock source, you can use that too. This includes using another micro controller toggling it's pin.
Software by day, hardware by night; blueAcro.com

Offline IanB

• Super Contributor