Author Topic: Banggood resistors  (Read 13783 times)

Offline StuartambientTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Banggood resistors
« on: June 16, 2016, 03:12:59 pm »
I'm just starting out with electronics (mostly) and was looking at resistor kits.  While I'd like to order from Digikey and get a good brand I'm wondering if anyone has experience with these from Banggood
http://www.banggood.com/Wholesale-400pcs-Metal-Film-Resistor-Assortment-Kit-Set-20-Kinds-Value-Total-p-53233.html

I know they say metal film and am aware of the "fake" Chinese resistors that are actually carbon but for a beginner experimenting some small circuits maybe they are ok? I guess my concern is that they die during a test and the rest of the components burn. 

Thanks for any feedback!

Offline nanofrog

• Super Contributor
Re: Banggood resistors
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2016, 03:24:09 pm »
They'll be fine.  ;)

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: June 16, 2016, 03:50:31 pm »
They'll be fine.  ;)

Ordered! Thank you.

Offline linux-works

• Super Contributor
    • netstuff
« Reply #3 on: June 16, 2016, 04:11:21 pm »
be aware of how things fail.

carbon fails as an open, usually.  is a failure of a part where an open-circuit would happen ok?

metal film fails as a short, usually.  same kind of question.

people often don't think about this or don't care, but since you are starting out, might as well inform you so that you'll know.

I have mixed feelings about 'cheap parts'.  in a way, its a good start and does not cost a lot, but there can be so much doubt in bad parts, even simple switches or resistors - and if your circuit does not work, is it because of YOU or THEM?

I hate having doubts like that.  with test gear, I need to know that I can trust it.  pretty much same with parts.

how bad can this or that cheap part be?  you'd be surprised.