Author Topic: Battery Charging Station, need some help!  (Read 2462 times)

Offline michael.hillTopic starter

• Supporter
Battery Charging Station, need some help!
« on: June 16, 2013, 12:09:17 pm »
I'm pretty new to electronics, so I don't really have a huge amount of experience with this kind of stuff.  I've been reading the Art of Electronics, listening to the Amp Hour and watching Dave for a while.  I'm really stuck on a design I'm working on for a FIRST robotics team.  I've tried to highlight my biggest questions in bold.

Throughout our competition, we have to keep batteries charged for our next match, and the time span for matches can be anywhere between an hour and a half during regular competition to about 10 minutes during the tournament, so we always have to have multiple batteries charged and ready to go. We are allowed to use two types of batteries, the MK ES17-12 and http://www.mkbattery.com/images/ES17-12.pdf the Yuasa NP18-12http://www.yuasabatteries.com/pdfs/NP_18_12_DataSheet.pdf.  We will rotate battery use, but overall we'll use them for about 2-3 years before they're no good anymore and end up on a practice robot (and that's fine with us).  Overall lifetime isn't exactly a top priority for us.  At any given competition, we'll probably take 8 batteries with us. I would guess each battery sees maybe a total of 50 charges/discharges throughout its entire life. This is because we charge them at maximum charge rate of 6 Amps using this charger http://www.walmart.com/ip/Schumacher-6-4-2-Amp-Charger-Maintainer/21642120 (You can get them anywhere, really).