Author Topic: Beginner Components?  (Read 27705 times)

Offline JacobEdwardTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Beginner Components?
« on: February 19, 2015, 01:28:30 am »
I'm new to electronics and have been teaching myself as I go but I keep discovering new components that have really essential functionality (like comparators or digital potentiometers) and was wondering if anybody would be willing to list off anything really basic (along with a cheap part number I can experiment with) that you would think is a must for beginners to learn.

I've only really heard of/ experimented with:

relays
motion sensors
switch's
transistors
potentiometers
digital potentiometers
resistors
capacitors
diodes
microcontroller
LED's and Lazer Diodes
Photoresistor
Shift Registers
Multimeter
Servo and toy motors
Ultrasonic Transducer
RFID
Op Amp
Thermistor
Barometric Pressure Sensor

--------------------------ADDENDUM--------------------------

Incase anybody in the future might find this post of any use... if you're a beginner like me and are looking for cheap parts to experiment with or discover, this site has been pretty useful

http://www.taydaelectronics.com/
« Last Edit: March 10, 2015, 07:17:33 pm by JacobEdward »

Offline xrunner

• Super Contributor
  • hp>Agilent>Keysight>???
Re: Beginner Components?
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2015, 01:55:27 am »
I think you've got the basic stuff covered.  :clap:

I told my friends I could teach them to be funny, but they all just laughed at me.

Offline LaurentR

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2015, 01:57:44 am »
The two "Make: Electronics" books are pretty decent for very basic electronics stuff.
They also have 2 matched packs of components to do the circuits in the book. You might want to look at the books themselves (depending on where you're at right now) and the kits (or at least the list of components in the kits).
This is the link to the whole thing. Linkes to the books and the kits are included: