Author Topic: Beginner fixing Fluke 8840A  (Read 6417 times)

Offline nadonaTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Beginner fixing Fluke 8840A
« on: December 01, 2012, 05:46:48 am »
Please bear with me. I just started learning electronics, I think.
My Fluke 8840A arrived today. The ebay dealer said it turned on but. Plugged in. No power.
Opened the case, looked inside for possible clue, spent an hour, still no display, hit the transformer with the driver and now I can see the VFD turned on.  |O
Ran the self test. From number 4 through the end of 21, all analog test failed. Bunch of errors.

I downloaded the manual and I found out this meter's power supply has 5 voltage regulators pumping out 7 different voltages. Two voltages are not ok.
An LM7924 should output -30 because there is a Zener reversing 6.2V. Instead I got -40V. I checked the input, -42V which is coming out of bridge rectifier. supposed to be -24?

So the transformer is wrong?
Ha-ha-ha. That's good, too!

Offline Shuggsy

• Regular Contributor
Re: Beginner fixing Fluke 8840A
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2012, 08:08:26 am »
The datasheet I found for for a LM7924 puts the max input voltage at -35V... looking at the input schematic for the Fluke 8840A (first hit on a google search for 'Fluke 8840A service manual') that zener makes the common reference pin for the LM7924 6.2V higher than the input voltage. So, if you have a -40V input, the input voltage the LM7924 sees is -35.8V or around -36V. Still a bit high...

Is the input voltage selection switch on the right setting for your location? (240V vs. 120V?)? The schematic lists the resistance of the windings from the transformer... maybe check that to see if it's about right. The 7924 may have died with as high an input voltage as it's seeing, particularly if it's outputting -40V.

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: December 01, 2012, 08:49:36 am »