Author Topic: Beginner Looking for suggestions!  (Read 4266 times)

Offline Adgj533Topic starter

• Contributor
Beginner Looking for suggestions!
« on: February 21, 2018, 04:08:53 pm »
Hey I am new to the electronics world, I am looking for setting up a work bench at home and I have a budget of around $500.
Can you experienced members give a list of products i should buy?
I def need 1) scope 2) function generator 3) power supply- i want to build this so i need 4) soldering iron+solder
i already have a breadboard kit which includes resistors, caps,ind,diodes etc
but I need few suggestions for 1,2,3 and 4.
Links would be useful.
Highly appreciate all the help, Thanks and this is such an awesome website
Cheers

Offline Raj

• Frequent Contributor
  • Self taught, experimenter, noob(ish)
Re: Beginner Looking for suggestions!
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2018, 04:30:29 pm »
what field of electronics?tube era/high voltage?digital?analogue?repairs and restortion?

Offline rstofer

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2018, 04:47:28 pm »
Well, the scope is easy (assuming you are not working on RF or very high frequencies) = Rigol DS1054Z is very popular and affordable at $349 at TEquipment.

https://www.tequipment.net/

Unlock it, details elsewhere, and you have 100 MHz, plenty of memory and all the options that are already included.  A lot of bang for the buck.

But that only leaves $150 and you won't get a quality signal generator for that kind of money.  Why do you need one?  I managed to get along for 40+ years without one and bought one last year just because I could.  Of course, I do mostly digital and there are other ways to generate signals.

You could try the FG085 for a while.  It's not the cleanest output in the world but it's not bad.

https://www.sparkfun.com/products/11394

OR...