Author Topic: Beginner's pulse counter project  (Read 4941 times)

Offline bbjunkieTopic starter

Beginner's pulse counter project
« on: October 06, 2013, 06:21:58 pm »
Hi!

I'm currently thinking of building a "Bilge Counter" for my boat. Basically a simple (to those that know how) circuit that counts how many times the bilge pump comes on in my boat when im away from the marina.

While I have basic electronics knowledge, I do not have the knowledge to design such a circuit. I have tried google, and other forums but have been unable to locate a circuit that will do what I want.

Basically, I need the following:

2 or preferably 3 digit counter that will increment by 1 every time it receives a voltage from the bilge pump circuit which could be as low as 10v and high as 14.5v counter must not increase again until the voltage has gone back to zero for at least 5 seconds
7 segment display or 16x2 LCD display
If LCD Display then a timer to allow illumination of said display for a preset number of seconds.
Button to allow counter to be reset
extremely low current draw (hence thinking of LCD over 7 segment)  thoughts?
Either built from scratch, or a shield for Arduino, however my coding skills only go as far as basic PHP!

Hints & Tips would be very much appreciated!

Cheers for now, and keep up the great work Dave - been a viewer since episode 40 something!

Pete

Offline Skimask

• Super Contributor
Re: Beginner's pulse counter project
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2013, 06:52:01 pm »
Simple...easy...done...
Power an Arduino directly from that 10-14.5v from the pump circuit.
Arduino powers on, waits a few seconds just in case it's a 'spike', increments a counter by one, saves that number in EEPROM, spit that number out the serial lines say once per second.
Bilge pump shuts off, Arduino shuts off (and that's why it waits a couple seconds before incrementing that counter in case there's a 'spike' when the pump shuts off).