Author Topic: Beginners DSO-138 assembly question  (Read 1196 times)

Offline cepwinTopic starter

• Supporter
Beginners DSO-138 assembly question
« on: October 15, 2017, 08:35:54 pm »
I'm putting together the DSO-138 and I ran into an issue.   There are supposed to be 4 2-pin male jumper pins to install, two on the mail board, two on the LCD board.   In the kit I instead found an 8 pin male jumper pin set.   Are this somehow supposed to be broken up into 4 2-pin pieces??  Looking at the close up of the part it sure looks that way.   If you are suppose to break up the 8-pin into 4-2pin pieces what is the best way to go about it??  I've attached a picture of the part in question

Offline TK

• Super Contributor
  • I am a Systems Analyst who plays with Electronics
Re: Beginners DSO-138 assembly question
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2017, 08:40:09 pm »
You can use a wire cutter to cut through the groves.  If you don't have a wire cutter, then use a plier and hold 2 pins at a time to break or hold the other larger part, leave 2 pins out of the plier and apply force to break in pieces of 2 pins.  If you need to cut them in larger pin counts, you can just use your fingers, but 1 or 2 pins is not that easy.

• Supporter
« Reply #2 on: October 15, 2017, 09:01:49 pm »
Thanks TK...that makes sense!

Offline Brumby

• Supporter
« Reply #3 on: October 15, 2017, 10:28:18 pm »
Before you start breaking anything, double check your requirements.

My DSO138 has 2 x 2 pin, 1 x 3 pin and 1 x 4 pin headers - which adds up to the same 11 pins you have there.

• Supporter
« Reply #4 on: October 17, 2017, 10:26:41 pm »
Thanks and your're right and I misread thinking it was 2 1x3's....I ended up having two 1x1 rather than a 1 1x2 at the end...since there is only plastic between them and no connection I think it should still work ....I'm actually more concerned about the transistors 

Offline Brumby

• Supporter
« Reply #5 on: October 18, 2017, 01:45:42 am »