Author Topic: Best beginner processor to implement?  (Read 7013 times)

Offline iceisfunTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Best beginner processor to implement?
« on: July 09, 2013, 07:45:39 pm »
I want to implement a z80 or 8086 (or other, suggestions) machine to do some learning.

It would be nice to get enough memory accessible to do a few 512x512x4 buffers and floating point access, I know some of these processors have optional fpu.

Offline madshaman

• Frequent Contributor
  • ego trans insani
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2013, 08:00:08 pm »
Go for something with a simpler instruction set like a 6502 or a 6809.  The 8086 and z80 are practically siblings (read the history of the z80) and have a larger instruction set to implement.

I assume you're going to do a scratch registers + mutliplexor/demultiplexor + ALU with microcode solution?

(I'm no expert, the only uC I ever implemented myself [in hardware that is] was in uni using EPROMs and PALs, because I'm ancient ;-p )

Edit: I know that doesn't address your desire for floating point, but I can't think of a simple processor that has it.  Was going to suggest Arm32 as well, but again, no floating point by default.

Maybe an 8086/8087 combo really is the best/simplest choice, but it's still a decently large instuction set, especially when you have to implement the system level instructions too.
« Last Edit: July 09, 2013, 09:43:57 pm by madshaman »
To be responsible, but never to let fear stop the imagination.

Offline dfmischler

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Best beginner processor to implement?
« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2013, 10:50:09 pm »
Are you planning to implement the CPU in some kind of logic, or use a microprocessor?  I'm guessing implementing the CPU outright, but its not really clear.