Author Topic: Best things to get as a Beginner  (Read 2794 times)

Offline AndyP.Topic starter

Best things to get as a Beginner
« on: October 20, 2015, 05:59:42 pm »
I am just beginning my career as a Hobbyist and I had a few questions on what gear I should get.

I of coarse know I should probably get an multi-meter, and I am going to get one. But I wanted some advice on what i should get.

I also am looking into getting an Oscilloscope but I don't know what to get. I was looking at the Sigilent SDS 1202X as it seemed like a pretty competent scope for it's price but I don't know if it is the right thing for me to get. I love having great gear and being able to tinker with it. I am the type that loves lots of features.

I also am looking at getting a 3D printer to print prototype cases to house my prototype boards for my projects and little handy devices. but I just don't know what to get.

what I plan on doing mainly is developing devices for android, because I develop Apps for Android devices and I love the platform very much. that and I am a PC Gaming Enthusiast and I love it! but there are times when something will breakdown but I want to know if it is possible if i can fix it myself, but I don't have the testing equipment to be-able to do such a thing. my current budget is between $2000-$3000 US dollars (Lower is better regarding price for equipment)

Online tautech

• Super Contributor
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. Siglent Distributor NZ.
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Best things to get as a Beginner
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2015, 08:34:48 pm »
Welcome to the forum.

Where to start?
If you have little gear there is much basic stuff you will need.
Basic tools, pliers, side cutters, long nose, screwdrivers, soldering iron and a selection of tips, LEADED solder, hookup wire, jumper leads, grabbers, magnifing headset? and the list goes on....

The bigger items;
Bench and illumination.
PSU or two?
Rework or hot air station.