Author Topic: Best way to bypass individual LEDs in a matrix of unknown design  (Read 2459 times)

Offline tallusTopic starter

Hey there!

Glad to be part of this community. Dave's videos brought me here, probably like many of you. I'm a beginner, but not complete beginner. I've got about half of the basics concepts, but don't know how to connect them yet. 

Objective:
  • Selectively remove RED high power LEDs in a 10x6 60 LED matrix.
    Replace red leds with components (resistors and diodes, I think) which allow the remaining blue and yellow LEDs to draw their rated power. No ghosting. No flicker. No burnout.
(Images if you scroll down!)

Details and specifications.
The exact device is this one: https://www.amazon.com/MarsHydro-Spectrum-Certification-Hydroponic-Greenhouse/dp/B00XC3LBI2 Yep. Yes. This is a growlight for growing you know what. So why am I mutilating my grow light? Because I'm not growing what you think I'm growing! I want to use this as supplementary sunlight for my houseplants here in NYC in the deep winter. I'm removing 5/6th of the red LEDs, because currently the matrix emits the tell-tale shockingly bright, acerbic, pink color light that is exactly what will get my door kicked in by the NYPD. I'll run it during the day and with 5/6th of the red LEDs removed the color balance will be much closer to daylight and unobtrusive.

I cracked open the device and it'v very simple. The PSU splits and goes to two identical transformers, each with 110-240 VAC input with an output labelled "DC 55V-86V (0.665-0.68A)"

The wires then disappear into a heat-sink sandwich, probably the front facing Al plate the LEDs are through-holed to, and the rear heatsink which appears to be machined from a wide bar. I have not opened the sandwich. Doing so is difficult for a few reasons I will explain only if asked.