Author Topic: Best Way to Clean Oxidized Soldering Iron Tip?  (Read 39987 times)

Offline superscott319Topic starter

• Contributor
Best Way to Clean Oxidized Soldering Iron Tip?
« on: September 06, 2013, 04:39:44 pm »
What's the best way to clean an already oxidized soldering iron tip? I'm new to soldering and after just a few days of using my iron, ended up with several completely oxidized tips despite pre-tinning each one before use. I've read a number of opinions on how to remove oxidation from soldering iron tips but it seems there's some controversy on which way is best and some claiming certain methods can actually harm the tip. For example, some recommend using a fine grit sandpaper, while others claim that can also remove the thin iron coating over the tip.

Please let me know which way works best for you.

Thanks

Offline 8086

• Super Contributor
    • Circuitology - Electronics Assembly
Re: Best Way to Clean Oxidized Soldering Iron Tip?
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2013, 04:42:04 pm »
For some tips the only solution is to buy replacements

Is your iron cheap?

Offline Codemonkey

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2013, 05:02:40 pm »

alm

« Reply #3 on: September 06, 2013, 05:15:13 pm »
Don't use abrasive tools like files or sand paper on iron plated (i.e. non crap) tips, that will strip the plating and severely limit the life time.

Offline plesa

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #4 on: September 06, 2013, 05:23:30 pm »
Get something like this:

http://uk.farnell.com/multicore-solder/ttc-lf/cleaner-tip-lead-free-15g/dp/1115477

Works wonders!

I have similar from PAce and it works like a charm and will  last for decade.

Offline IanB

• Super Contributor
« Reply #5 on: September 06, 2013, 05:23:51 pm »
I think the most common cause of oxidized tips is an excessive tip temperature. Some of the cheaper irons without temperature regulation can run very hot. My old Antex iron used to do this.