Author Topic: Bipolar benchtop power supply, and why are they so hard to find.  (Read 13711 times)

Offline David Hess

• Super Contributor
  • DavidH
Re: Bipolar benchtop power supply, and why are they so hard to find.
« Reply #25 on: October 09, 2017, 11:27:44 pm »
I made my own, many years ago when I was a student. I used transformer with two 15V secondary windings, which I connected in series, with the centre tap going to 0V on the schematic.

That is the straightforward way to do it.  It is possible to do without the operational amplifier as shown below.  EDN published another example.

Driving the virtual ground to the feedback network as shown in the EDN example has the virtue of maintaining tracking symmetry from both sides.  I might combine that with the example shown below.  I think I have seen another design which uses two operational amplifier to cross connect the feedback networks achieving the same thing.

Offline Zero999

• Super Contributor
« Reply #26 on: October 10, 2017, 12:28:34 pm »
I made my own, many years ago when I was a student. I used transformer with two 15V secondary windings, which I connected in series, with the centre tap going to 0V on the schematic.

That is the straightforward way to do it.  It is possible to do without the operational amplifier as shown below.  EDN published another example.

Driving the virtual ground to the feedback network as shown in the EDN example has the virtue of maintaining tracking symmetry from both sides.  I might combine that with the example shown below.  I think I have seen another design which uses two operational amplifier to cross connect the feedback networks achieving the same thing.
That should be better than my design. It should also be more stable. Others have said that my op-amp based design might oscillate but I've not managed to make it do that on the bench, even though no compensation capacitor is used.

Offline David Hess

• Super Contributor
  • DavidH