Author Topic: BK precision 2120 scope  (Read 4022 times)

Offline cdntechTopic starter

• Contributor
BK precision 2120 scope
« on: March 19, 2017, 02:40:45 pm »
Hello all! I have been lurking for sometime now, and finally decided to make myself an account. I am fairly new to electronics, and recently purchased a BK precision 2120 oscilloscope. I am having an issue with the display...I have adjusted the trace rotation as best as possible, but on the lower end of the CRT the trace seems to dip at the ends while at the top of the CRT the trace is perfectly straight. I have the service manual, but after reading it I am still unsure as to what it could be?

I have included some pics below. Thanks in advance!

Offline David Hess

• Super Contributor
  • DavidH
Re: BK precision 2120 scope
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2017, 04:03:43 pm »
There may be a CRT geometry adjustment or two inside to correct for CRT geometry errors.  The vertical and horizontal shield and common mode plate voltages can also affect geometry so these might be adjustable.

The geometry error shown is noticeable but probably within the specifications.

I checked the manual and VR804 may have an effect on the geometry.  Either check it according to the calibration instructions are just adjust it to see what effect it has.  Only a voltmeter is required.

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2017, 04:38:35 pm »
Right on, thanks! I will check that out.

Offline alank2

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2017, 10:25:21 pm »
It goes without saying, but be careful with the cover off, there are places where there is +2000 volts exposed.

Offline med6753

• Super Contributor
  • Tek nut
« Reply #4 on: March 20, 2017, 12:56:21 am »
Welcome to the blog and fellow BK 2120 owner here. As mentioned there is no geometry adjustment but I also suggest checking all the supply voltages although you can't check/adjust the -2KV HV unless you have a high voltage probe.