Author Topic: Book question to the self taught or semi self taught?  (Read 3848 times)

Offline ShadetreepropsTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
  • Backwater building
Book question to the self taught or semi self taught?
« on: February 29, 2016, 10:48:08 pm »
So i got

Electronics All in one for Dummies, those books always break it down for me, and make everything easier. so they are alway part of my learning, i have stacks of them.

But as i go though the book, i see it will make a great reference, but its not going to go deep into anything..

what is one more book that will take all the concepts i am learning and step it up to more in depth work with the components, and layout of a board. But i know its going to be diffrent depending on who i ask. So take into consideration, i am self teaching..there are no classrooms, no lab set up. I have no scope. i have a hack job

0-12Vdc bench unit my soldering iron, and the fluke meter my brother gave me, (now he has a degree in EE)..and thats pretty much it. everything else i do is either in free simulators. or googling it to death. until i give up come here and ask, in fear of looking like a lost puppy. :blah:

Also im not into the sections in IC's so when i run into issues. most of the time someone nicely suggests me a IC that dose it..and thank you for that.

I would have ended up designing a circuit that would be a glob of parts and wires, that could have been easily delt with by oh a 555 or the LB3914 < got this one burned into my head... :-DD
« Last Edit: February 29, 2016, 10:50:02 pm by Shadetreeprops »
Buy it, use it, break it, fix it, Trash it, change it, mail upgrade it, Charge it, point it, zoom it, press it, Snap it, work it, quick - erase it,

Offline Andy Watson

• Super Contributor
Re: Book question to the self taught or semi self taught?
« Reply #1 on: February 29, 2016, 11:33:06 pm »
I think Horowitzt and Hill's "Art of Electronics" would be the next step.

Online tggzzz

• Super Contributor