Author Topic: Books About Noise  (Read 6573 times)

Offline TahoTopic starter

• Contributor
Books About Noise
« on: April 16, 2014, 08:05:28 am »
I am a physicist. I am using a lock-in amplifier with a custom electronics. I was not able to decrease the noise orginating from my op-amp circut. Do you know any source in which noise is explained in detail ? I want to learn the topic throughout.

Offline Simon

• Global Moderator
  • Did that just blow up? No? might work after all !!
    • Simon's Electronics
Re: Books About Noise
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2014, 08:09:27 am »
I'm not sure you will find a book on noise but I assume you are using op-amps so a book on op-amps that goes into detail will certainly cover issues around noise.

Offline juani_c

• Contributor
    • ssihla

Offline Conrad Hoffman

• Super Contributor
    • The Messy Basement
« Reply #3 on: April 16, 2014, 03:25:43 pm »
You might try some of the books on noise by Ott. Also, download the Low Level Measurement Handbook from Keithley. Those should have some good theory on noise. There are also some good application notes explaining noise from National Semi, now TI. It's been decades, but I think you have to modulate or chop your input signal and then recover it with the lock-in. Somewhere in the Linear Technology application notes, Jim Williams had a good description and even a simple lock-in circuit.

The following users thanked this post: WuhanBear

Offline awallin

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #4 on: April 16, 2014, 04:30:15 pm »
I am a physicist. I am using a lock-in amplifier with a custom electronics. I was not able to decrease the noise orginating from my op-amp circut. Do you know any source in which noise is explained in detail ? I want to learn the topic throughout.

these have at least the basics, together with discussion on SNR for various measurements:
Bentley: Principles of Measurement Systems
Hobbs: Building Electro-optical Systems: Making it All Work

Offline Christe4nM

• Supporter