Author Topic: Budget soldering iron  (Read 8356 times)

Offline Gmm213Topic starter

• Contributor
Budget soldering iron
« on: September 20, 2017, 09:16:53 am »
First off let me say take pity on me lol. Im sure you guys hear this question all the time. I searched and found some ideas for irons but mostly cam across rework stations. Let me preface by saying that I am not a beginner when it comes to electronics or electrical. I did it daily in the Navy.

I was hoping for some help settling on one specific iron. This will get used a handful of times a year for random projects I come across. I was hoping to stick to a budget of $50. So far I have found:

1) Weller WLC100
2) X-Tronic 3xxx
3) Aoyue 469
4) unbranded 862D+ SMD rework
5) Any other recommendations?

I like the idea of the Weller for the name brand but Im worried the 40w will limit me. I dont need an entire rework station but if I had it Id use it. The iron itself is much more important. As for stretching to the always recommended Hakko FX880 I figure if I use one of these enough to justify it to myself Ill probably go with something nicer than that down the line.

Offline Gyro

• Super Contributor
Re: Budget soldering iron
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2017, 09:29:35 am »
Hi Gmm213, welcome to the forum.  :)

This is the most recent discussion on soldering irons / stations in your sort of price range...

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/reviews/recommend-a-soldering-station-please/

Hopefully some tips for you there to get you started.
Best Regards, Chris

Offline Brumby

• Supporter
« Reply #2 on: September 21, 2017, 04:26:46 am »
If you've had experience in this area with the Navy, I believe you will find yourself cursing like a sailor if you short-change yourself on this decision.