Author Topic: CAD and Layouting software reocmmendation  (Read 4262 times)

Offline tonycTopic starter

CAD and Layouting software reocmmendation
« on: July 14, 2016, 03:59:23 pm »
Hi I am newbie here. I design my circuit using paper and pencil but I would like to make my design look somewhat professional. I just wonder what are the popular CAD and lay outing software would people recommend.

Offline rstofer

• Super Contributor
Re: CAD and Layouting software reocmmendation
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2016, 04:04:25 pm »
I have been using the software from ExpressPCB.  It has a schematic editor as well as a PCB layout editor.  In terms of layout, expect to have to do everything yourself.  This is NOT the equivalent of Eagle.  OTOH, the learning curve isn't like Eagle either!

The software is proprietary and the only company that can build boards designed with the software is ExpressPCB!  But that's ok with me, I like their service and the prices, while not as cheap as boards built in China, are fine.

The following users thanked this post: tonyc

Offline Curtis

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2016, 04:04:33 pm »
I use "LTspice IV". It's free, plus it simulates the circuits you design.

Offline Lee Leduc

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #3 on: July 14, 2016, 06:49:06 pm »