Author Topic: Can a Tesla really produce 500hp? Electronic questions about powertrain  (Read 7472 times)

Offline ssulbTopic starter

I am a student pursuing a career in electrical and computer engineering, so I am not an absolute expert with electronics. I am also a car enthusiast. Many have probably heard of Tesla producing stunning electric cars that can even smash many high end supercars. But I have always wondered how they worked. I would love to gain some more in-depth knowledge from fellow electronics enthusiast. I hope this topic will not only interest me, but many other members of the EEVBlog forum.

Some questions I have are:
Is the power made by a Tesla constant throughout its acceleration? I looked at some dynamometer runs and noticed lots of power at low speed, and then the power dies off. Would this be a result of the limitations of the battery or any other components. Or is it related to the gearing of the car (there is not transmission in this car because the motors directly drive the wheels).

How does a Tesla put out that much power from the battery? Is it using capacitors or other amplifying circuitry, or is it just directly from the battery?

Overall, I am really interested in the electronics side of things that happens with Tesla's powertrain.

I look forward to what fellow members have to say and I appreciate the information. Please feel free to add additional information I may have missed.  Thank you in advance for all the feedback and comments.

Offline james_s

• Super Contributor
Re: Can a Tesla really produce 500hp? Electronic questions about powertrain
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2017, 01:23:18 am »