Author Topic: Can Someone Educate Me on Software Serial, and RS232 Sensors in General?  (Read 4127 times)

Offline PotomacTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
I have some questions regarding RS232 sensors, which I have laid out in structured form below. If you could educate a total beginner, that would be greatly appreciated

1).  To communicate with my Arduino Pro Mini, I know that I'll need a RS232-to-TTL converter module. I found two below that seem to have good reviews.  Are there any better options around?  I would like to keep it as small as possible, with the one caveat that it have 2-4 holes on the corners so I can mount it with screws and metal standoffs.

The modules I found:

a). "RS232 Serial Port to TTL Converter Communication Module for Arduino - DX.com"

b). "RS232 Serial Port To TTL Converter Module for Arduino #04902615 - MiniintheBox.com"

2). Those two modules I listed above have different numbers of pinouts, and different abbreviations for pinouts.  Excluding VCC and GND, one has 2 additional pinouts and one of them has 4. See picture attachment called "Pinouts" below. Is there a set of pinouts you'd want in general?

3). For reference, the sales brochure for the oxygen sensors I want to attach to my Arduino Pro Mini is here. (I need to email them to ask for a real datasheet) Does this inform which pins I need on a converter module? I don't see any data relevant to answering this question. 

http://www.presens.de/fileadmin/user_upload/products/Transmitters/EOM-O2-mini/160615_TR-EOM-O2-mini-16-01_w.pdf

4). I know that the Pro Mini has one UART.  Could I attach 3 of the oxygen sensors above with SoftwareSerial?  How reliable has it gotten over the years? I've read that previous versions were dicey in terms of data quality. And also that are limitations to data speed. 

I found this resource but it hasn't been updated in awhile:  https://www.pjrc.com/teensy/td_libs_SoftwareSerial.html
« Last Edit: September 21, 2016, 05:14:18 am by Potomac »