Author Topic: Can you identify this scope probe?  (Read 3401 times)

Offline dalpetsTopic starter

• Contributor
Can you identify this scope probe?
« on: June 17, 2014, 03:54:50 pm »
I just received a second hand Trio analog 35Mhz oscilloscope (circa 1980) . It came with a HP? probe.

Hand engraved on the probe is GP88100 250Mhz 20pF.

It also has a slide switch with three  settings viz., "|:|, ref, I0:1". Could you tell me what the first two settings are & when to use them. It also has an inset calibration screw. Do you know how I would calibrate with that?

I have no documentation on the probe & I am new to scopes.

Thanks

Offline cs.dk

• Supporter
Re: Can you identify this scope probe?
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2014, 05:16:19 pm »
1:1 is a "direct connection", in that sense that if you probe 1V you will read 1V on the scope - Your imput-inpedance will still be in effect though, so it's not just a wire!. Ref is often connecting the probe-tip to ground, what to use it for, i never managed to figure out.
10:1 is a voltage-divider/attenuator, Probe 1V and you will read 100mV on the scope-screen.
The compensation is used to get a right square-wave from the embedded signal-generator - It shoult be on front of the scope. See more her:

Google for a manual for the scope - Many of these older scopes have very well written manuals. If it's a manual from a Hameg, Tek, what ever is not that important, as many of them shows and tells the "basic" usage. Only special-features needs the right manual.

I've got an Aaron 20 MHz scope, and a Tek 2246 - Besides from the scope features, the how-to's are practically the same.

What model is your Trio-scope?

Have a look at Dave's and Allan's video's - They are quite good to tell how to do some basics (and more advanced of course)

1X vs. 10X probes:

Please don't forget the scope training class here - It is really good: https://www.eevblog.com/forum/beginners/oscilloscope-training-class-%28long%29/