Author Topic: Capturing serial output with Rigol 1054Z - seeking some guidance  (Read 5203 times)

Offline GrigsTopic starter

I have some experience with analog scopes, but I have a new digital scope that I don't fully understand all the features of. (Rigol DS1054z)

I recently wanted to capture some serial output from my PC to a radio I had. The communication between the two wasn't working, and I decided I wanted to see both RX and TX during the attempted handshake. So, I managed to get a probe on both RX and TX, channels 1 & 4, set the vertical to 5 volts, the horizontal to 5 ms. The pulse of data was rather quick. I could see it flash across the screen, but that was about it.

In short, my question is, how do I better capture this so I can view it?

I did manage to record it, I kind of got lucky. I just happened to push record at the right time. My recording duration was rather low (5 periods of 5 ms I think?) I am not entirely sure what determines my recording length, I believe it's my sampling depth?

I was looking at storage options for waveforms and traces. I saved some files for both, but I couldn't view them and I was not entirely sure storage for either was what I wanted to do here.

Anyways, back to the original question, what is the best way to view this output, which happens very fast? Below is a screen shot of what I managed to capture.

Offline aveekbh

• Regular Contributor
Re: Capturing serial output with Rigol 1054Z - seeking some guidance
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2015, 05:52:31 am »
In short, my question is, how do I better capture this so I can view it?
I did manage to record it, I kind of got lucky. I just happened to push record at the right time. My recording duration was rather low (5 periods of 5 ms I think?) I am not entirely sure what determines my recording length, I believe it's my sampling depth?