Author Topic: Charging ultracapacitors with computer PSU  (Read 9494 times)

Offline drummerdimitriTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Charging ultracapacitors with computer PSU
« on: September 22, 2014, 07:28:52 pm »
Hello people,

I am new to this forum and I hope to learn a lot about electronics during my stay here.

My electronics knowledge is limited since I am just a hobbyist but here's what I like to do.

I've moddified my 750W computer PSU by adding banana jacks to the case for 12, 5 and 3.3 V outputs to be used to either charge batteries directly or feed power to my battery charger (DC in).

Whenever I try charging my ultracapacitors, the PSU shorts out and shutsdown. I guess this is happening due to the very low internal resistance of the caps.

The PSU has 2 +12V rails with each capable of providing up to 32 A of current so that's 72 amps combined.

How would I be able to charge my ultracapacitors at around 60 amps without tripping the PSU?

I've tried adding resistors in series with no avail.

If anyone could help me out I'd be very grateful.

Thanks!

Online tggzzz

• Super Contributor
  • Numbers, not adjectives
    • Having fun doing more, with less
Re: Charging ultracapacitors with computer PSU
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2014, 08:50:47 pm »
Details matter. Schematics help.

What is the voltage rating of the capacitors? Which PSU rail do you connect them to? What resistor values (and wattage) have you used? Do you connect them and the turn on the PSU or vice versa. What voltages and currents have you measured.

Get them wrong and smoke and noise will emanate from your room :)
There are lies, damned lies, statistics - and ADC/DAC specs.
Glider pilot's aphorism: "there is no substitute for span". Retort: "There is a substitute: skill+imagination. But you can buy span".
Having fun doing more, with less

Offline sacherjj

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: September 22, 2014, 09:15:46 pm »