Author Topic: Cheap LM2596 based adjustable lab supply  (Read 5443 times)

Offline casper.bangTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
  • Pro SE, amateur EE.
    • BangBits
Cheap LM2596 based adjustable lab supply
« on: March 24, 2013, 10:33:17 am »
Hey guys,

As a newbie I do not have a dedicated lab supply, so usually play (breadboard and stripboard/veroboard) using LiPo's (I fly RC heli). Not sure when I get a hold of a real lab supply, so when I saw this tiny and cheap adjustable voltage/current with CC and CV from Shenzhen/China (yeah I know the stuff from there is low-quality and frowned upon by Dave) I had to order one. I plan to mount it permanently to a large breadboard, add 2 multi-turn 10K pots for better control of voltage/current and use an external 12V DC adaptor to feed it (meaning a 1.3V - 10V output range), which would make it possible for me to "play" even while sitting in the living room relaxing at night:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/LED-Voltage-and-current-display-LM2596-DC-DC-Step-Down-CC-CV-Adjust-Power-Supply-/150878659741

It's based on TI's LM2596 DC-DC conveter and appears to be an implementation of the reference design outlined in the data sheet:
http://www.ti.com/lit/ds/symlink/lm2596.pdf

Obviously I am concerned about ripple and noise; the data sheet does outline how to filter most of this ripple using a post-ripple LC filter but this reference design does not appear to contain one.

- For the L in the LC filter, the sheet mentions a low ESR cap. This internal resistance thing is a bit new to me, what kind of caps would I typically have to go for here? It looks like plain electrolytes on the diagram but on reference boards it looks like a super-cap.

- What kind of noise trouble could I run into even when applying this LC filter? I assume for general digital circuits there would be no problem, what about op-amps and other analog work?!