Author Topic: cheap photogate hacked stopwatch  (Read 4881 times)

Offline gromfTopic starter

cheap photogate hacked stopwatch
« on: April 30, 2013, 04:04:20 am »
I'm looking to create a cheap photogated timing circuit to measure the time it takes model cars to go down a short ramp.  It's based on an idea we saw at Legoland, where you can build different cars and test them down a ramp to see which design is fastest. 

Technical photogating equipment is very expensive.  For this application, something imprecise would be fine.  I thought about hacking a stopwatch (as in this project), but using infrared beams (cheaper/safer) instead of lasers.  I didn't fully understand the circuit in that project, and wondered if the first beam needs to latch or shutoff once it's broken to prevent a false second signal that would stop the watch -- for example, from a second axle.

Does anyone have a simple idea on how to do this?  Maybe there is a kit that does this already?

I'm a novice with circuits but do understand soldering, switches, and basic components. 

Thanks!

Offline Recyclojunk64

• Contributor
Re: cheap photogate hacked stopwatch
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2013, 03:55:48 pm »
An easier way to do it might be to use a soundcard (line input) and simply record the pulses that come through the photodiodes with it. Audacity or a simmilar audio recording program would suffice. Of course this would take longer to analyse the data (maybe 30 seconds or so), but it would probably be much easier than mucking around with relays and stopwatches.

Offline kfitch42

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2013, 04:36:18 pm »
I assume you are looking for something like this: http://www.hmpg.net/pinewood/

« Reply #3 on: May 02, 2013, 04:54:09 pm »
Both the sound card idea and the derby racer project are great ideas and get at the basic concept.