Author Topic: Choosing an inductor  (Read 2116 times)

Offline aaronhanceTopic starter

• Contributor
  • Damit
    • aaronhance.me
Choosing an inductor
« on: November 27, 2015, 01:06:39 am »
Hello, I'm a Software Engineering student and an electronics hobbyist. I am currently working on designing a 3d printer controller board with a free-scale MCU that has a ARM cortex-m at 100Mhz. I'm looking at some reference designs and for high frequency noise reduction at the power input it has some inductors, but it fails to mention what values they should have. What values would be good for this situation and why? Thanks!

Offline tautech

• Super Contributor
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. Siglent Distributor NZ.
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Choosing an inductor
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2015, 01:53:11 am »
Welcome to the forum.

Mains filtering usually just consists of a common mode choke and class X and Y caps.
The choke values may be determined by their current carrying capability, this we would need to know.
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
Siglent Youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/@SiglentVideo/videos

Offline aaronhanceTopic starter

• Contributor
  • Damit
    • aaronhance.me
« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2015, 02:29:12 am »
Welcome to the forum.

Mains filtering usually just consists of a common mode choke and class X and Y caps.
The choke values may be determined by their current carrying capability, this we would need to know.

Hi, it's on the input pins for the mcu, not the power supply itself.

Offline pmbrunelle

• Regular Contributor
  • lost mech. guy
« Reply #3 on: November 27, 2015, 04:02:29 am »
I would put ferrites there.

There's not too much capacitance, so if you put more proper inductors, you would risk having a high Q, and then the response to sudden load demands wouldn't be too good.

Online T3sl4co1l

• Super Contributor
  • Expert, Analog Electronics, PCB Layout, EMC
    • Seven Transistor Labs
« Reply #4 on: November 27, 2015, 05:22:35 am »