Author Topic: choosing/understanding the right powersuply for the TS100  (Read 62962 times)

Offline TuxKeyTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
choosing/understanding the right powersuply for the TS100
« on: March 26, 2018, 05:13:39 pm »
Hi guys

Excuse the the lack of knowledge but i'm a noob when it comes to this subject.
So i want to get the TS100 soldering iron to start of.
After having watched several reviews i decided it's the right compact iron for me at the moment.

Only problem is that i don't want to get a crappy Chinese power supply but a three prong one that will last me.
All the power supplies i currently own don't have the correct jack.

What did i do:
As i live in Europe (The Netherlands) i looked around on amazon Germany asked people about good brands power supply
And eventually landed on a two brands and one store that had filters to narrow my search.
I downloaded the TS100 manual that mentioned the specs i needed to know..

Operation Voltage: between 12v - 24v
giving you power: between 17W - 65W
Electric current: >1.4A - >2.7A
Heat up time from 30c to 300c 40s - 11s (the more power you put in the faster it will be)

They reccommend a 19V 2.1A power supply turning it in a 40w iron..
But as "Marco Reps" noted in his youtube review the internals can handle way more..
I just want to give it the max it can handle according to the manual. so 24v >2.7A turning it in to a 65w iron.

So after reading the manual and searching i found two power supplies that looked good on paper and the price was ok i guess.

So my question is this;
with computer power supplies it is recommended you buy a couple % higher rated power than you would need for does peak times.
And because a computer power supply runs efficient if the load is not 90% all the time.. But say 75% or something like that at least above 50%..
At least that's what i was always told.
So the Bicker (BET-0624) provides exactly what the iron needs 24v @ 2.7 amps (i think that's how you say it haha)..