Author Topic: Complete noob bought the wrong Hakko FX888, help?  (Read 7385 times)

Offline smaulzTopic starter

Complete noob bought the wrong Hakko FX888, help?
« on: July 30, 2015, 04:01:55 am »
Since I already feel like an idiot, I'll keep the details to a minimum.

After much research and indecision, I finally decided to purchase an FX888 as my first 'real' soldering station (didn't want the FX888D). Being discontinued, the only option was ebay, so I found one and placed the order. Received the shipping notice today and only then realized I'd purchased the 220V version (U.S., need 110V). Completely missed that detail on the original post (like I said, I'm an idiot).

I guess I'm asking for a little assistance converting this unit to 110V. Is this doable? Is it practical? I can always return it (minus shipping and restocking fee), but if I can make it work without an external converter, I'd prefer that route.

I hate to join a new community only to immediately beg for help with my hat in hand, but I'm hoping some of you nice folks can point me in the right direction. Thanks in advance.

Offline LA7SJA

• Regular Contributor
  • Acting user manual reader & forum search engine
"If at first you don't succeed, skydiving is probably not for you"

Offline retiredcaps

• Super Contributor
Re: Complete noob bought the wrong Hakko FX888, help?
« Reply #2 on: July 30, 2015, 04:45:03 am »
You might have made another mistake?  There are counterfeit FX888s sold on ebay.  You can tell sometimes by the picture, but a teardown will reveal whether you got a counterfeit or not.

There is lots of information on this forum about the counterfeits.

Offline amyk

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: July 30, 2015, 06:38:02 am »
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/chat/230v-transformer-for-110v-hakko-fx-888/

You'll need a transformer with 24V output and ~90VA power rating.

Offline Zero999

• Super Contributor
« Last Edit: July 30, 2015, 10:11:07 am by Hero999 »

Offline wraper

• Supporter